History

Jews used to live in the territories of today’s cantons of Berne and Jura as early as around 500 C.E. But in the Middle Ages their situation deteriorated: they were discriminated, segregated and pursued. At the end of the 18th century, the two communities of Lengnau and Endingen in the Canton of Aargau were the only ones in Switzerland that allowed Jews to settle down permanently. Their rights, however, were strongly limited – they were neither allowed to carry on a craft, nor to possess land.

The Federal Constitution of 1848 granted comprehensive fundamental rights to Christian Swiss people only. Just by a popular vote in 1866, that provided them the freedom of settlement and full exercise of civil rights, the Jews were put on an equal footing with the other Swiss citizens. A restriction taken profoundly hard by the Jews, nevertheless, followed just around 30 years later with the issuance of the ban of ritual slaughter (shechita).

At the outset of the 20th century, an abundant Jewish life began to unfold. Swiss Jews contributed essentially to the economic development of the country, be it in the constitution of Eastern Switzerland’s knitting industry, the watchmaking industry in the Romandy, or the establishment of the first large department stores in the cities. Also in science, politics and culture Jewish personalities have set landmarks up to today.

During the Second World War, Switzerland was a safe haven for the local Jewry. Some 23,000 Jews prosecuted by the Nazis succeeded in finding refuge in Switzerland. But an estimated number of 20,000 Jewish men, women and children were repelled at the border, which for most of them meant certain death.

Today, around 18,000 Jews live in Switzerland. They define themselves as Swiss and Jews, as Jewish Swiss citizens. This is what this travelling exhibition on 150 years of emancipation tells about by word and picture: 15 portrays by photographer Alexander Jaquemet are complemented by the sitters’ statements as to their Jewish self-understanding in Switzerland.

History
19.10.2015 Factsheet Emanzipation PDF (16 kB)
19.10.2016 Abstimmungsresultat PDF (102 kB)

Contact

Swiss Federation of Jewish Communities (SIG)
Gotthardstrasse 65
P.O. Box 2105
8027 Zurich

T +41 (0)43 305 07 77
F +41 (0)43 305 07 66

Media Contact:
T +41 (0)43 305 07 72

Geschichte

Bereits um 500 nach Christus lebten Juden in den Gebieten der heutigen Kantone Bern und Jura. Im Mittelalter verschlechterte sich ihre Stellung; sie wurden diskriminiert, ausgegrenzt und verfolgt. In der Schweiz waren Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts die Aargauer Gemeinden Lengnau und Endingen die einzigen Ortschaften, an denen sich Juden dauerhaft niederlassen konnten. Aber ihre Rechte waren stark eingeschränkt, sie durften kein
Handwerk ausüben und keinen Boden besitzen. Die Bundesverfassung von 1848 gewährte die umfassenden Grundrechte nur den christlichen Schweizern. Erst 1866 wurden die Juden durch eine Volksabstimmung, welche ihnen die Niederlassungsfreiheit und die volle Ausübung der Bürgerrechte brachte, den übrigen Schweizer Bürgern gleichgestellt. Eine von den Juden tief empfundene Einschränkung folgte allerdings knapp 30 Jahre später mit dem Schächtverbot.

Zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts entfaltete sich in der Schweiz ein reichhaltiges jüdisches Leben. Schweizer Juden waren massgeblich beteiligt an der wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung des Landes, beim Aufbau der Strickerei Industrie in der Ostschweiz und der Uhrenindustrie in der Westschweiz ebenso wie bei der Gründung der ersten grossen Warenhäuser in den Städten. Auch in Wissenschaft, Politik und Kultur setzen jüdische Persönlichkeiten bis heute prägende Impulse.

Im Zweiten Weltkrieg war die Schweiz für die ansässigen Juden ein Ort der Sicherheit. Rund 23’000 von den Nazis verfolgten Juden gelang die Flucht in die Schweiz. Aber schätzungsweise 20’000 jüdische Männer, Frauen und Kinder wurden an der Grenze abgewiesen, was für die allermeisten den sicheren Tod bedeutete.

Heute leben rund 18’000 Jüdinnen und Juden in der Schweiz. Sie fühlen sich als Schweizer und Juden, als jüdische Schweizer. Davon berichtet diese Wanderausstellung zu 150 Jahre Gleichberechtigung in Wort und Bild: 15 Porträts des Fotografen Alexander Jaquemet werden durch Aussagen der Porträtierten zu ihrem jüdischen Selbstverständnis in der Schweiz ergänzt.

Geschichte
19.10.2015 Factsheet Emanzipation PDF (16 kB)
19.10.2016 Abstimmungsresultat PDF (102 kB)

Kontakt

Schweizerischer Israelitischer Gemeindebund (SIG)
Gotthardstrasse 65
Postfach 2105
8027 Zürich

T +41 (0)43 305 07 77

Medienstelle:
T +41 (0)43 305 07 72